twitter-bird slideshow translate-01 phone link-1 address facebook facebook-mobile photo-camera at-sign exclamation facebook twitter


Church of England Academy

Google Translate

Google Translate



Get in touch

Contact Details

Social Media


Curriculum Overview

At Harris Church of England Academy our aim is to provide all students with a broad, balanced and relevant curriculum throughout their time at the Academy. In years 7 and 8 students study a varied and broad curriculum that allows them to experience and develop many transferable subject specific skills. In years 9, 10 and 11 this curriculum develops to become more specialised as students make the choices that are right for their future.


All subject courses in all year groups comply with the requirements of the National Curriculum, which is reviewed each year.


Key Stage 3 (Years 7 and 8)

At key stage 3 we provide a curriculum designed not only to develop students’ knowledge and understanding in a range of subjects but also to enable them to develop the skills required to become independent learners throughout the rest of their time in school and beyond. The students are placed into two parallel ability half year groups.
All students at key stage 3 follow a one week timetable comprising of 25 periods a week with 5 periods a day (4 in the morning and 1 in the afternoon).


Subject Hours per week
English 3
Mathematics 3
Science 4
Art 1
Computer Science 1
Drama 1
Design & Technology 3
Geography 1
History 1
Modern Foreign Languages 1
Music 1
Personal Social Health Education 1
Physical Education 2
Religious Studies 1
Literacy 1
Numeracy 1
Total 25


Students will also have numerous opportunities to participate in curriculum enriching activities, either as part of the normal academy day or as part of one of the extracurricular clubs.


Key Stage 4 (Years 9,10 and 11)

At Harris Church of England Academy we follow a 3 year key stage 4. In year 9 students will begin their key stage 4 courses in all core subjects and option choices. Students will be guided onto the most appropriate pathway using the information from regular assessments. All students at key stage 4 will study the core subjects as shown below. Core subjects are taught in two parallel half year groups that are divided into sets.


Core Subject

  • English Language
  • English Literature
  • Mathematics
  • Science (separate science or core and additional or combined science)
  • Religious Studies
  • Computer Science
  • OCR Cambridge National in Sport Science or Sports Studies
  • GCSE Citizenship (except year 11)


Students and their parents/carers are given clear information, advice and guidance when choosing key stage 4 courses during the spring term of Year 8. The pathway system gives clarity to the options process. Two pathways will be recommended to students based on their preferred way of working, interests, and ability and future aspirations. They will then be asked to express a preference about which pathway they would like to select their three options from. As much as possible, we hope to allow students to follow their preferred pathway. However, we are keen that all our students succeed and so your son/daughter’s teacher(s) will be consulted. Their professional judgement and experience will help us make sure that the most suitable pathway has been selected. To help support this process all students will have an individual information, advice and guidance interview.  Students will then select additional courses and qualifications from the list below. The number of choices depends on the year group students are currently in.



  • Art    
  • Business Studies
  • Child development (Years 10 and 11 only)
  • ICT (Year 11 only)
  • Drama
  • Dance    
  • French
  • Geography    
  • Hospitality and Catering (Years 10 and 11 only)   
  • History  
  • Music
  • Principles of Food Preperation and Nutrition (Year9 only)
  • Physical Education    
  • Sociology
  • Product Design (Yer 10 and 11 only)   
  • Media Studies (Year 11 only)
  • Spanish (Year 10 and 11 only)  
  • Computer Science (Year 11 only)


Other Qualifications 

  • TLM Level 1 and 2 Certificate in Designing, Engineering and Constructing a Sustainable Built Environment (Year 9 only)  

All students at key stage 4 follow a one week timetable comprising of 25 periods a week with 5 periods a day (4 in the morning and 1 in the afternoon). Each period lasts for one hour and lessons are mostly taught in single periods
In addition to the core subjects there will be opportunities to learn and put into practice the knowledge and skills related to work related learning and enterprise. These will take place across the curriculum within different subjects and activities. For example, curriculum enrichment days.


Policies related to the curriculum including homework can be found on the Policies page of this website.

External Links

External Links

Choose a link to visit.